THINGS THAT DRIVE ME CRAZIER THAN USUAL

Standard

When you are served by a child barely old enough to be on their own and they call everyone, “Dearie”.  Seriously….”Dearie”?  Do they think I am too old to remember my name?  Now, I don’t mind at all when an older woman who has been waitressing forever calls me ,”Hon”.  It is part of their charm…uh, perhaps “charm” isn’t the exact word, since they usually have an edge about them that you know they have been around the block more than once.  I respect these gals.  They know their jobs and they do it well.  But these children who are serving us today have not earned the right to call me, “Dearie”. And what has happened to the phrase, “You’re welcome”?  Nowadays it’s, “No problem”.  No it is not a problem since you are being paid to serve me.  “No problem” feels like they are doing me a favor.  I gotta come up with a catchy phrase to address that in a meaningful yet polite way.  Heaven forbid I should be thought of as a crabby old lady!

Having to swipe my own credit/debit card.  First of all, I can’t see *&^% without my reading glasses and by the time I hit the check out, I have taken them off so I can’t see what the heck I am doing.  And you’d think that all the machines would be the same but nooooo.  So there I stand, like some moron, asking the clerk what to do.  And then I get, “the look”.  Anyone over 35 knows “the look”.  It’s that expression on the clerk’s face that says, “Geez, if I have to tell one more old person how to use these things, I’m gonna really roll my eyes and make loud sighing noises”.  Well, excuse me for living you little twerp.  One of these days, I’m gonna flip out and let them have it.  Right there in the Walgreen’s  line (or where ever I am) I’m gonna let loose with a tirade that will have every adult in line clapping in support.  Don’t ever mess with a woman going thru mental-pause.

Not getting what I ordered when I go thru the drive-thru window.  How stinkin’ difficult can a regular burger, small fry and a drink be?  And when I specifically ask for ketchup, give me the dang ketchup.  There is a drive-thru that I regularly go to and I’d have to say that at least 50% of the time they forget to give me my ketchup even tho it is right there on the receipt.  Now I know what you’re thinking…big deal.  But it is a big deal to me.  I don’t like fries without ketchup.  Yes, I could park and haul my big arse into the joint and grab some ketchup but I went thru the drive-thru so I wouldn’t have to.  It represents (to me) the lack of good service that has become the norm in the past 10 or more years.  What has happened to taking pride in your work…yes, even as small a task as putting ketchup in a bag.  If you ask me, it is just the tip of the social decay iceberg….another topic for another day!

Places that don’t accept all forms of payment.  Or bills bigger than a $20.  Come on people.  I can’t leave the house anymore without a debit/credit card, a checkbook and small bills.  And what happens when you buy something and for whatever reason your stinkin’ debit card doesn’t work, you don’t have a credit card (I know..who doesn’t have at least one credit card…me), and they don’t accept checks and you don’t have anything smaller than a $50?  Do they call the cops?

Packaging.  Why is it that children’s toys are screwed, twist-tied, and in plastic that only a strong person can get into?  Is there some tiny tot mafia that I am not aware of that steals toys out of their packaging?  And it’s not just toys.  It’s almost everything.  I can’t tell you how many times I have hurt my hands trying to rip open an item in that indestructible plastic.  It is impossible to open without taking some heavy duty scissors and cutting the crap out of the package and hopefully not cutting up the item inside.  What do the elderly and the weak-handed do?

Thrift stores that charge more for used clothing than clothing on sale in a dept. store.  I was just at our local thrift stores this week and was SHOCKED at the prices.  SHOCKED  I tell you.  As much as $17.99 for a used summer tank dress.  (Not to worry..I wasn’t looking for any tank dresses for me, as I would never subject you to my full-figured figure!).  What happened to the 4.99 dress?  And the 2.99 shirt?  It’s not like the joint had to pay for any of the stuff so they can’t blame rising wholesale costs.  Come on….there are many families that have to shop used for their clothing and how in the world are they supposed to pay those kinds of outrageous prices?   GET REAL…. GOODWILL, SALVATION ARMY AND SAVERS.

DQ prices for their ice cream products.

Rude sales people.

Rude and arrogant doctors.  The older I get, the less rudeness I am willing to stand for even from doctors who think I don’t know jack*&^% about what I am taking about.  After 57 years of living in it, I KNOW my body and don’t you dare brush me off or talking down to me.  Shut up and LISTEN to what I am saying.  HEAR me out.  I AM PAYING YOU….you are not doing me a favor by seeing me.  DO NOT send me for stupid tests that take up my time and money and by doing them you are saving your butt in a malpractice suit.  Let’s start with the simple things and work our way up to the invasive, nasty, expensive tests instead of starting with them.

The cost of the above tests.  Whole nother blog…..

Ok, enough for today!  I would love for you to leave your comments on how you feel about these and any thing else that drives you crazy!   I wish I had the energy to start a nation wide campaign to address these and other issues!  I’d call it, “The WTHIWT movement”   (What The Heck Is With That?)   Where is it going to end????

Oh my goodness, I really do sound like a crotchety old person.  Huh, maybe all the old folks who used to complain really did have valid issues and we were just too young and self-centered to realize it??

About queenrobyn

61 yrs.old, wife, mother, grandma, artist, humorist, friend, caregiver, blogger, retired singer, rughooker, doll and mohair teddy bearmaker, born-again Christian, rebel, optimist, addicted Ebay shopper, collector (or hoarder as my husband would tell you), glamper, lover of all things old and worn (like me!)

4 responses »

  1. Ha! I was thinking the very same things the other day! The overly casual, “I’m your buddy” waitress, the $4.99 tank top at Goodwill… I also hate people who don’t thoroughly listen to what you’re saying and just jump on what they THINK you mean.

    On the other hand, at work I get phone calls from people who call to discuss something related to my office. After that problem is solved, they go on to tell me about their foot problems and their problems with their relatives, etc., when another phone is ringing that needs my attention or I have work to do. I wish people would think to have the courtesy to free me to help the next person who needs me.

    Good social observations, woman!

  2. Right on Woman! And…how about men (whith whom you are NOT in a committed relationship) calling you Honey, Sweetie or Dear. A few years ago I purchased a camera at a chain-store in Duluth. As I was leaving, I set the alarms off. Now this store had the alarms very close to the check-out lanes and ‘courtesy counter’ (A totally inaccurate discription of the services doled out there), so employees DEFINITELY saw me. Being an honest person, I stopped, tried to exit the store a second time, set off the bells and whistles AGAIN with the same result. Finally I asked if anyone was going to deal with the issue. The very bored 12 yr old courtesy counter staff put down her comic book, rolled her eyes and walked ALL THE WAY (about 10 ft) over to me. She ran my new camera over the scanner thing that is supposed to de-activate the strip that sets the alarms off. I tried to leave again with the same results. Then the same 12 yr old looked me in the eye for the first time and said ‘Its not the camera setting off the alarm’. I stiffled my urge to choke her or ream her a new one, put the camera down, walked over and stood in the alarm. Nothing happened. No alarm. Hmmm. Really? Then I insisted she try to leave with the aforementioned purchased camera in hand. Funny thing…the bells and whistles sounded. Then I left, went home and called the next business day & talked to the manager who politely listened to my concerns: primarily that I felt the 12 yr old was insinuating that I had unpaid-for merchandise in my pockets. Then he ended the conversation with ‘Thanks for letting me know, Honey’. I haven’t been back to that store since.

    I bet if you circled your fast-food restaurant and drove thru the drive thru window again and asked for your ketchup they’d never forget it again.

    Now the packaging issue…I hate those! Once, my hubby was helping a grandchild open a Christmas toy when his pocket knife slippped and he cut his finger badly enough to require stitches. Christmas ended early that year so I could take him to the ER to get the wound tended to. And, what happens if the plastic-guarded product doesn’t work? Can you even return it if the packaging has been mangled?

    Now on to rude sales people: when I was 16 and working in a family owned retail store, the FIRST thing the manager told me was that she had better NEVER hear a customer say that I asked ‘Is that all’? It sounds rude. It sounds like the clerk thinks you’re cheap. I was then informed that the appropriate and polite question was ‘Will be there anything else’? And I’d better be smiling and making eye contact when I said it, too. Now whenever I hear a clerk ask me ‘is there anything else?’ I make a point of telling them how nice it is to deal with a polite salesperson. Does that make me a cranky old lady?

    I’ve found that asking doctors if they’ve ever had litigation brought against them [Politely of course…something like making eye contact, & asking ‘I don’t mean to offend you, but since you are recommending surgery (or whatever), I need to know if you’ve ever had litigation brought against you’]. Initially, they might get a bit uppity about it, but once that’s done, I’ve found them to be more willing to listen to me & my issues, no matter how irrelevant they believe them to be. Actually, I kind of enjoy taking them down a notch like that. I think it reminds them that I’M paying THEM. And maybe that there’s the possibility that they may not actually BE God.

Leave a Reply

