WANT SOME TOE JAM WITH THAT FOOT?

Standard

I have a tendency to speak before I think.  And a real warped sense of humor.  These two traits have gotten me into some really embarrassing situations.  You would think after I did it once, I would have learned my lesson.  You would be wrong….

Years ago I was in a class at the Vo Tech (man does that date me…how long has it been LSC?) and there were 9 of us in this class.  All single young women and we became good friends.  We were required to wear these “smocks” and I noticed that one of the girls was gaining a bit of weight so one day thought it would be funny to tease her about being pregnant and not knowing who the father was since I knew she didn’t have a boyfriend or date much.  Like I said….warped sense of humor.  I thought it a bit odd that she didn’t laugh and come back with a quick retort as we usually had some fun banter between us.  Later that night another classmate called me furious that I could be so mean.  Confused by her anger, I told her I didn’t know why she had her knickers in a bundle and then she dropped a bombshell.  Seems our friend had gone home for the weekend, gone to a party, got drunk and some guy she barely knew offered to give her a ride home and then took advantage of her and she was pregnant!   She and our friend thought I had found out some how and was being viciously mean by teasing her.  I felt so horrible.  Eventho I apologized profusely the next day, our friendship was never the same.

Years later I was with a group of ladies from a church I was going to and we were on our way to a women’s retreat.  I knew only the pastor’s wife who was driving and another woman who happened to be a really good friend.  We stopped half-way to the retreat to get some food and when we got back in the car, which by the way was a large station wagon with all our gear in the way back, the driver asked me if there was anything behind us as she had to back up.  Being the ever comedian-wanna-be that I am, I laughingly said, “No, nothing but a bunch of midgets” or something lame like that.  Dead silence.  So I’m thinking, “Geez, tough crowd”.  My good friend then proceeds to tell me that the woman I am sitting next to sister is a midget.  “Oh ya, right”, I tell her thinking she is trying to be funny.  The pastor’s wife then chimes in and says, “Actually, Robyn, that’s true”. Ok, now what are the chances that out of the four women in the car that I don’t know, one of them is going to have a family member who is a midget?  I would never have made a joke about an ethnic race or a religious affiliation, etc. but at that time the thought of someone having a “little person” in their life never even  occurred to me.  Of course, I was mortified but what do I do?  I start laughing hysterically.   All I can think of is what are the chances that this would happen to anyone else?  Thankfully the woman was not the least bit offended because throughout the whole weekend everytime I thought of it, I would be unable to control my laughter.  We all slept in the same room and I don’t know how many times that first night I woke them up with my fits of laughter.  They then would also break out laughing knowing that I was still thinking what an idiot I was!

I  wish I could say I haven’t stuck my foot in my mouth in years but I would only be lying.    What about all you?  Gotta story to share?

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

