STICKS AND STONES MAY BREAK BONES BUT WORDS RIP OUT THE HEART

Standard

Words once spoken can never be taken back.  WORDS ONCE SPOKEN CAN NEVER BE TAKEN BACK.  Speak it out loud and it is out there forever (much like emails and texts!).   I can think of many instances that I spoke harsh or hateful words and instantly (or very soon afterward or even years later) I regretted saying them.  I’m sure everyone reading this can relate.  Too bad there isn’t a delete button we could push to totally erase the moment.    I wish the emotion that we are feeling could come out in colors instead of words.  Hate would be black.  Anger would be red. Jealousy would be purple.  Envy would be green.  Disgust would be brown.  Fear would be bright orange.    Frustration would be royal blue. Each emotion would have it’s own color and it would be universal.    But in retrospect, I guess colors could hurt you as much as words.  So what is the answer?     Not venting your feelings isn’t healthy.  Drugs help somewhat but I am not proposing everyone get on Prozac.  Trying to keep from putting the blame on the other person is supposed to help but when I am in a snit, I don’t remember the rules.  I can be sarcastic when I am frustrated.  I try never to be cruel.  I sometimes swear like a long shoreman when I am really angry.  I have thrown things.   And when I have really been nuts, I have hauled off and hit.  Only twice.  And he was much bigger than me.   But I always have in the back of my head, that whatever I say, I can never take back.   I need time to be alone and deal with whatever is going on.  Then I can calm down and act like a normal person.  We often react in the same ways our parent did, even if we hated how they did it.  How often as a parent have you found your self saying phrases that drove you nuts as a kid to your children?  How many of us swore never to say, “Because I told you so”?    But after being asked ten times ,”why can’t I”? sometimes “Because I told you so”, is the right answer.  Never say that to another adult.   Never say, “Whatever” during an argument.  It demeans the other person’s opinion.  Everyone deserves to be heard.  And everyone needs to respect opposite opinions.  Even if you think they are nuts.   I don’t understand people that have to argue to death a difference of opinion.  Do they really think that all that yelling and emoting is going to change the mind of their opponent?  Not gonna happen.  Why can’t we agree to disagree?  Unless it’s a matter of life and death, who gives a rat’s rump if you think one way and I think another.  I don’t need to be right  and you to be wrong.  I believe what I believe and you aren’t going to change my mind no matter how much you try to push your agenda.  I have found that actions speak louder than words and so I hope my life and how I live it would be all the voice I need.   What do you think?

About queenrobyn

61 yrs.old, wife, mother, grandma, artist, humorist, friend, caregiver, blogger, retired singer, rughooker, doll and mohair teddy bearmaker, born-again Christian, rebel, optimist, addicted Ebay shopper, collector (or hoarder as my husband would tell you), glamper, lover of all things old and worn (like me!)

One response »

  1. I find it amazing how some people can say whatever they want in a fit of anger and then expect that “I’m sorry” is going to be enough. You can accept their apology, but the scar their words left stays forever.

Leave a Reply

