FOUR GENERATIONS TOGETHER OR MY DAUGHTER SEES HER FATE

Standard

Yesterday I got together with my daughter and her two kids, my sister and her baby grandson and my mom to celebrate my sister becoming a Senior citizen (somehow we have become older than our mother or so she says!). I now realize why my daughter often doesn’t make our sporadic get-togethers…it scares the crap out of her to see her future!  It has become very clear to me that if my sister and I out-live my dad’s family genes and have inherited my mom’s we will live to be a ripe old age but nuttier than a bag of mixed nuts.   Our conversations were like old slap-stick routines, no one listening to one another or getting only bits and pieces, asking a question out of the blue about a conversation that had been prior and the rest of us looking at the person with no knowledge of what the heck they are talking about.  It reminded me of a three-ring circus.  I wonder what an outsider would have thought….”Three flew over the cuckoo’s nest” comes to mind.  Add to that chaos three kids under 2 1/2 and you can see where it was a wild afternoon.   But there was lots of laughter and love which my family has in abundance so my daughter has at least something good to look forward to!

I’ll give you one example of the kinds of conversations that go on when we get together……My mom was telling us about a man she works with who fell over his cat in the bathroom and hit the tub and broke ribs and lacerated his spleen and is now laid up at home and bored.  She thought it would make him laugh if I wrote to him via Facebook and told him I had a cat I would give him since I heard about how much he loves cats.  So being the dutiful daughter I am, I sent him this message: “I heard you are looking for a cat since something happened to yours :)”  knowing he would get the message that my mom had told me his story.  So I post it to his wall and then my mom tells us that he had the cat put to sleep after falling over it!  Did you notice I put a smiley face at the end of the message?!  Now this poor man is going to think what kind of person is happy that he had to put down his beloved cat?????  My sister was screaming with laughter (we seem to relish the foibles of one another). So I had to hurry to post an explanation so he wouldn’t think me inhuman.  I wish I could say this was a freak experience but alas, it is quite common in our conversations with our matriarch.  So I guess I really do know why my daughter skips these forays into madness…she is trying to save her 8 month old daughter from her destiny!

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

