WHEN I GROW UP

Standard

When I grow up:  I want to have long legs and thighs that don’t touch and wear stiletto heels and short skirts.  I want to have long, straight hair that shines and a dazzling white smile.  I want to have a voice that sounds like I have lived in foreign countries and have a slight accent.  I want to have a glow like JLo and dance like Beyonce and sing like Adele.  I want to wear a signature cologne and red lipstick.  I want to wear designer clothing and Jimmy Choo shoes.

When I grow up:  I want to travel first class  and stay in five-star hotels and tip bell boys lavishly.  I want to see all the famous sights and spend a week on a yacht.  I want to paint outdoors in Italy and France.  I want to dance in the streets of Spain and take a gondola ride in Venice.  I want to stay with a royal family in a real castle and walk at daybreak in the moors of Scotland.

When I grow up:  I want to meet Hillary Clinton and take her to a beauty salon and dress shop.  I want to sit down and ask Oprah and Barbara Walters questions that have real meaning.  I want to hook politicians up to lie detectors and ask them what their real agendas are.  I want to meet real-life heroes and teachers who made a difference.  I want to talk to people who have had near-death experiences and parents who have lost children.  I want to have a radio show and ask Ryan Seacrest what its like to be him.  I want to ask actors and professional athletes what makes them deserve such vast amounts of money for what they do.  I want to talk children with serious illnesses and to be with anyone who is dying alone.

When I grow up:  I want to build medical centers where no one is turned away or denied care because of a lack of insurance, where doctors can do what they are best at and take as much time with each patient as needed.  I want to feed the patients good, wholesome, healing foods and medications are a last resort.  I want researchers to have whatever they need to find cures.  I want there to be no politics, no kickbacks from pharmaceutical companies, no corruption in these centers.  I want the medical personnel to work six hour shifts and only five days a week.  I want everyone who works there to be there because they truly want to help people.  I want nurses to have a voice in the care of the patients and doctors to confess when they make a mistake.  I want bad doctors and nurses to be “called on the carpet” and dismissed.  I want better medical care and less screw-ups.

When I grow up:  I want to sing at Carnegie Hall.  I want to be in a hit comedy on TV.  I want to dance in Riverdance.  I want to write books that will make people happy to be alive.  I want a shop of my own where I sell one-of-a-kind pieces of furniture and art.

When I grow up:  I want to live in a coastal village, in an art community.  I want to ride a three-wheel bike with a large wicker basket on the back and wear bohemian clothing and funky gold jewelry.  I want to live in a cottage on the beach and sit each day at dusk on the white sands in a cream-colored fishermen’s sweater and a plaid cotton skirt with an old quilt wrapped around me drinking a great cup of coffee and thinking what a great life I’ve had.  When I grow up.

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

One response »

Leave a Reply

