IS IT OK TO BE HAPPY?

Standard

As everyone else in this country, I am trying to make some sense out of the shooting last Friday.   But there really will never be any sense to what happened.

So how do we go on?  I was supposed to go to a Christmas party on Friday night but after spending the entire afternoon glued to Fox news and crying, how could I go and have fun?  It felt wrong.  How could I laugh and enjoy myself when so many lives were changed that day?  It felt like I would be dishonoring those babies and teachers who died.  I should be mourning their deaths, not playing games and singing carols.    So I chose to stay home.

What is the “etiquette” of behavior when something like this happens?  Do we just do business as usual or are we called to take time to mourn these lives that were taken?  The fact that such young children were killed has a greater impact  on us, I think.  I wasn’t so affected when those college kids were killed or when a bunch of adults are killed.  Is it human nature to care more about those little lives?  Or is it just me?

So when do I get back to my normal life?  When do I start enjoying this Holiday season without guilt?  Can I really watch my grandbabies open their gifts on Christmas and not be thinking the whole time of the tens of grandparents who won’t be holding their grandbabies this year?   Is it OK to be happy?

Is anyone else struggling with this?   I’m afraid the gunman has stolen so much more than those precious lives.   Not only him but all the madmen who kill in churches and malls and hair salons and fast food joints.  Places that only brought pleasure now bring fear.

I weep for the lives that were taken.  I weep for the families.  I weep for the communities.  I weep for this country.  I weep for us all.

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

6 responses »

  1. For me the lesson is to live and love to our fullest because there are no guarantees in this life. I pray for peace for the families of those beautiful children and their incredibly brave teachers. And I remember that while it seems much too soon, they are in heaven with our Lord where we all want to be some day. So my dear friend, honor those babies by loving and enjoying your family and friends at this special time of year – especially those two beautiful grandchildren of yours. Love you!

    • So true Katy!!! So Robyn SNAPPED out of it!!! Life is too short. Yor enjoy, laugh, love and live
      watching those grandkids have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. What happened was absolutely the worst!! On Christmas I will say a prayer for the families, embrace mine and enjoy what I have. God Bless all the Angels who entered into his house on Friday and will be at the biggest celebration ever, HIS birthday!!

  3. As horrific as that event was, life goes on. It is forever changed. Innocence is lost once again. If we don’t carry on as best we can, they, the demented people who commit these atrocities, win. And that’s not right. And it’s not pleasing to God. After a respectful period of mourning, it’s okay to move on. Not to forget, we can never forget. but to find a way to honor the victims,and to try to re-define the new normal.

  4. You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

