NEVER MISS AN OPPORTUNITY

Standard

On my way home from work this morning, I went thru the drive-thru at McD’s (Hi, my name is Robyn and I am a junk food junkie.  I went 14 days without stopping at a drive-thru.  I fell off the wagon today.) and as usual, I try to be cheerful and friendly to the person who is taking my order (I try so hard to treat others as I would like to be treated) and when I drove up to pay I commented on the woman’s beautiful purple nails.  I love to compliment strangers.  I know the zing I get when someone comes up to me and tells me something nice.  It’s like an unexpected gift and I love re-gifting!  Anyway, the woman thanked me and said how much she appreciated my cheerfulness in giving my order.  She said that the person before me got ticked at her when she was too slow in giving him his change and drove off in a huff.  She said she then went up to the front window and asked the man if he would like his change and he replied, “Obviously”.  “I don’t expect to have to wait at a McDonalds”.   My goodness have we really come to this?  You can’t wait 10 seconds to get your change?  I said to the woman, “How sad”, meaning I felt sorry for her but bless her soul she thought I meant the man and she said, “Yes, wasn’t he”.  And she was so right.  What trials was he going thru that would cause him to be so rude to a mature adult?  Or to a young person.  Age doesn’t matter.  We spoke of how the rest of his day was set by this tone and how her’s could have been had she let his actions spark a reaction in her.  This woman turned the other cheek.

As I sat in the parking lot eating my usual egg and cheese biscuit, I thought about that man and was led by the Spirit to pray for him.  I prayed for whatever was wrong in his life that led him to speak to that woman that way.  I asked God to send His love to him through someone today.  He is a hurting soul.

In my many years of being a woman of faith, I have been prompted to pray for strangers mostly in private and to myself but some times He actually has me go up to someone and ask if they would mind if I pray for them.  I always preface it with, “You are gonna think I’m nuts but….” and by the time I am done, they are usually so thankful.  Now I tell you this not to have you think me prideful but to show you how God can use us in so many different manners if we are just willing to be obedient to His promptings.  This man I prayed for today will never know it but what if by my lifting him up to God for a blessing on his life, his day turns out better.  You all know about the “ripple effect”.  How many times would a tragic act have not occurred if someone had taken the time to pray when nudged by the Spirit for someone?  I firmly, 100% believe God hears our prayers and acts on them.  We unleash His power in our life and others when we pray.  Do we always get the answers we want?  No.  Does it mean He doesn’t love us or we aren’t good enough or spiritual enough?  No.  Some times the answer is just NO, I HAVE SOMETHING ELSE IN MIND FOR YOU.  Have I struggled with Him over not answering my fervent prayers.  You are darn tootin’ I have.  Someday I will write about an incident where my faith was shaken to the core when He didn’t answer in the manner I and many others were expecting.

Ok, I didn’t want to preach at you.  I just wanted you to understand that you can be used by God anywhere and anytime if you just say, “Here I am Lord, use me as You will”.   And don’t be surprised if someday we are out together having lunch or shopping and I say, “Oh man…” and go to someone and ask if I can pray for them.  It is not easy for me to do it, as outgoing as I am, I still hope God will ask someone else to do it.  But I know from years of experience that when He calls me, I will have no peace until I obey.   But the look on my mom’s face when it happens when we are together is absolutely priceless.  She gets this panicked look and I swear she wants to run and hide.  So there, bam!  A blessing for me! LOL

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

