ARE YOU MY MOTHER?

Standard

Those who know me, know that my husband is 5.5 years younger than me.  He was barely out of high school when I nabbed him and he has always looked at least 10 years younger than he really is.  After we had been married a couple of years, my dad figured out how much older I was than my husband (he never was real good at math!) and one day he said to me in a voice filled with surprise, “Man, you really robbed the cradle”.  When we got married, I think my dad was just so happy that he no longer would have to mow my lawn or fix my car or do my home repairs that I could have married a junior high student as long as he could do those things for me!

About the time I was 35 and hubby was not yet 30, I decided to let my hair go natural (as in pretty grey) and I was into a more “Mother Earth” mode so I was wearing mostly jumpers and shifts and had let my hair get shoulder-length and being almost as round as I was tall, I suppose I had a “matronly” vibe going.  My husband dropped me off at a little store in Carlton while he went to the feed store and then was supposed to come into the store to get me since I could spend hours in there without some gentle prodding that it was time to go.  So I am shopping away and my daughter was with me and there was a man also in the store and two store clerks.  Now this particular store was also a craft store so they had long craft tables that you would sit at during the after-store hours classes.  Hubby came in (he had just gotten a brand new leather jacket and had sunglasses on and had a “flat-top” haircut and was spanking clean-faced) and he sat down on one of the chairs next to the table and I was checking out with my back to him.  The woman who was standing next to the check-out lady says to him, “Can I help you?” and I being the person I am, jumped in and spoke for my husband.  “Oh, he’s with me”, I said.  To whit the check-out woman chirps in a loud voice, “Oh isn’t that nice, he waiting for his MOTHER”!!!!   I could feel my face turning bright red and the other woman quickly says, “Oh Barb, that’s not her son, that’s her husband”.  Now, when I get embarrassed, I talk really fast and my voice gets higher and higher so there I am trying to make jokes but no one can understand me cause I sound like a chipmunk who had just inhaled helium and taken two hits of speed and the man who had been standing next to me starts laughing and I whip around and say to him in a voice that was so high and squeaky that all the mice in the shop came running out to pay homage to their Queen, “What are you laughing at”?

Well, I tell ya, I couldn’t get out of that shop fast enough.  Not only was I humiliated but I knew that my husband would NEVER let me forget that I was taken for his mother.  As we left in the car, I was practically in tears and my dear daughter says, “You know mom, if they thought dad was a teenager, you could have a son that age”.   That did make me feel better until we stopped at Walmart and I ran in and got a big ‘ol box of hair dye!

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

One response »

Leave a Reply

