AMERICAN IDOL

Standard

Someone once told me that they had at one time, had me up on a pedestal. I was absolutely shocked. Firstly, I wasn’t even sure they really even liked me, secondly, I have no outward qualities that I could ever imagine someone thinking I was worthy of pedestal elevation and lastly, it would take a good size crane to hoist my sorry gluteus maximus up a step let alone a pedestal! And of course, I came crashing down. Hard.
While I am flattered that anyone would ever have thought that much of me, I am here to tell you that if you put any human up above the bonds of humanity, you are in for a serious disappointment. No human being should ever be “idolized”. Not a preacher, not a movie star, or athlete, or parent or friend. No one. There is only One who is worthy of such a lofty place. Only One who can ever occupy such a responsible position. Us humans will only fail you. We are never perfect. Some do a better job at “clean living” and may have qualities that you admire and maybe even aspire to and that is ok. As long as you realize that they are not and never can be without sin (or for those who have no spiritual beliefs…faults).
I do not get the worship given to professional athletes or movie stars. There are so few of them who do not fall from grace and then tens of thousands of people are crushed. Hello? Just because they have a talent in one area does not make them infallible to failure in others. And would you not agree that most are extremely self-centered? And how could you not be with people fawning all over you and telling you h great you are, how special you are. That is a pressure that most cannot cope with and so to ease that, perhaps, unconscious guilt they turn to destructive habits.
So please my friends, do not put me or anyone else above sin and failure. We all fall short of the perfection of our Creator. Put Him upon the pedestal as He will never fail you or disappoint you or hurt you. You have my word on that!

About madqueen54

The madqueen54 is a woman of many interests but proficient in none. A creative spirit looking for the one true skill she has yet to find. A woman looking for something to be passionate about. Writing has come easy to her, though she was never interested in it until the discovery of blogging. The words flow and she gets lost in her stories. Most are true. Some are embellished. A few are flat out fairy tales made up for entertainment value. It is up to the reader to decide which is which.

2 responses »

Leave a comment