AMERICAN IDOL

Standard

Someone once told me that they had at one time, had me up on a pedestal. I was absolutely shocked. Firstly, I wasn’t even sure they really even liked me, secondly, I have no outward qualities that I could ever imagine someone thinking I was worthy of pedestal elevation and lastly, it would take a good size crane to hoist my sorry gluteus maximus up a step let alone a pedestal! And of course, I came crashing down. Hard.
While I am flattered that anyone would ever have thought that much of me, I am here to tell you that if you put any human up above the bonds of humanity, you are in for a serious disappointment. No human being should ever be “idolized”. Not a preacher, not a movie star, or athlete, or parent or friend. No one. There is only One who is worthy of such a lofty place. Only One who can ever occupy such a responsible position. Us humans will only fail you. We are never perfect. Some do a better job at “clean living” and may have qualities that you admire and maybe even aspire to and that is ok. As long as you realize that they are not and never can be without sin (or for those who have no spiritual beliefs…faults).
I do not get the worship given to professional athletes or movie stars. There are so few of them who do not fall from grace and then tens of thousands of people are crushed. Hello? Just because they have a talent in one area does not make them infallible to failure in others. And would you not agree that most are extremely self-centered? And how could you not be with people fawning all over you and telling you h great you are, how special you are. That is a pressure that most cannot cope with and so to ease that, perhaps, unconscious guilt they turn to destructive habits.
So please my friends, do not put me or anyone else above sin and failure. We all fall short of the perfection of our Creator. Put Him upon the pedestal as He will never fail you or disappoint you or hurt you. You have my word on that!

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

