THE SIXTIES

Standard

Hah, I bet you thought this post was going to be about my journey of life back in the 1960’s.  Fooled ya.  Someday, I’ll regale ya’ll with my adventures of my “hippie chick” days but today’s post is how I hope my chronological 60’s will be.

I have 682 days until I turn 60.  (If I did the math right).  In that 682 days I hope to lose at least 50#,  which means I need to lose basically 25# a year.  (I tried to do the math on paper but couldn’t quite remember how to do it!)  Very doable.  Heck, I’ve lost more weight than that in a year.  Of course, it came back….along with some weight someone else lost.  (Please contact me if you have lost some weight as I would like you to take it back.)  So, I need to drop 2# a month.  Geez, one good you-know-what and I could lose that!  So that is goal #1.  Would someone volunteer to help keep me on track with this?

I figure since I have messed up all the other decades of my life in one way or another, my 60’s are kinda my last chance at inner happiness.  I want to be settled into “me”.  Content with who I am.  No more reinventions.  I probably will always have strange hair as that is really part of who I am, but it may or may not be oddly colored.  If wigs were more comfortable, I know I would shave my head and have a fun and funky collection of them.  (Of course, my husband would have to agree as he would be married to a female version of Uncle Fester!)  I really hate all the drama my hair creates for me.  It never seems to be what I had envisioned it to look like.  The only times I really like the style is the night before I have an appointment to change it or right before the stylist is done….there seems to be a point when I am in the chair that I love my hair but then she feels it needs just a few more tweaks….and whamo….it is not as cute as it was before the tweaks.  But being the timid bird that I am, I say nothing.  I think to myself it will be OK after I wash it and if it was cute before the tweaks, I can get it that way myself.  Deluded should be my middle name.  I can never get it to the cute stage.  So shaving it down to the nub really would make my life easier.

And getting rid of those clothes that have been hanging in my closet for years, just waiting for me to be the right size.  I promised my husband (who has 1/3 of our only closet) that when I turn 60, I would try on everything in our closet and what didn’t fit would be passed on and I mean it.  Nothing in my closet will be too small if I can lose those 50#….wait, I am going to rephrase that….those 2# a month (so much more positive).  Again, I need someone to keep me accountable.  Every 10# loss, I should try everything on and get rid of anything that is too big (oh what sweet words…) and see what I am getting closer to fitting into.

Next is getting my artistic life going.  I have found that I have an artistic flair that I have kept on the backburner for decades.  I have more ideas than I will ever have time for and I have a small building that my husband is in the process of moving for me that I want to make into a studio/gallery.   I hope to be able to “retire” from my job and devote all my spare time to my artistic side.  I have tried it before but under the pressure of a huge credit card debt from buying all the supplies I thought I needed.  This time will be different cause I know now that I can never have any kind of credit card.  I am like an addict when it comes to spending money.  Besides, I am clever enough to use what I have to create and not need more supplies (at least for awhile!).   So I need someone to help me once my building is in place and ready to be set up as I have a huge problem staying on task.  It will take me way too long to do it by myself as I will want to go thru each and every bin that has my supplies in it and I will get side-tracked if left alone!

And last but not least, I want my relationship with my darling husband to be my first priority.  We will have been married 30 years by the time I turn 60 and he has always been “on the sidelines” and it’s about time he was the “headliner” in my life!  I am now making changes to try to make that a reality and I truly hope in the next 682 days it will be possible to do so.

Oh how I wish I knew what I know today decades ago.  But the past is gone and I hope for greater peace in the future….within myself and in my relationships.  I have a motto that I have been saying for years, “Well, I’m not dead yet!” so there is still time to change the things that I can and to let go the things that I can not.  So I look forward to the new decade that is just around the corner, hopeful that it will be all I wish it to be.  And I hope that you all will join me in my quest to the Sixties, to cheer me on when I tire of the race and to share with me your dreams for your next decade of life.  Life is much easier when it is shared with those who care….and I do care about all of you.

LONG LIVE THE QUEEN!!!!

About queenrobyn

61 yrs.old, wife, mother, grandma, artist, humorist, friend, caregiver, blogger, retired singer, rughooker, doll and mohair teddy bearmaker, born-again Christian, rebel, optimist, addicted Ebay shopper, collector (or hoarder as my husband would tell you), glamper, lover of all things old and worn (like me!)

2 responses »

  1. Robin I do know where you are coming from because I have been their most of my life. Loosing weight isnt easy but if you need someone to do it with I would really like to be able to help you an myself too! We have been friends for a long time. You have helped me out so I would like to return the favor. What do you think let me know because now you can email me if you want too. Loving friend Lorie

Leave a Reply

