I ASK, GOD ANSWERS #1

Standard

Many years ago a dear friend of mine had four miscarriages in a row and was lamenting how alone she felt.  All she ever wanted to be was a wife and mama.  Her friends had been avoiding her because they knew not what to say to comfort her.  I felt so sorry for her.

Soon after hearing about her last miscarriage, I was driving to do some thrifting and I was thinking about her and asked the Lord if there was anything I could do for her and I got this “voice” in my head that said’ “Make her a doll for each baby she lost”.  “What”?  I had never heard of such a thing.  She would think I was nuts (ya, ok…as a good friend she already knew that, but I mean really whacko).  But I couldn’t shake that voice in my head and so being the trusting soul I am, I said to the Lord, “Ok, I’ll do it IF when I go to the thrift store I find the perfect pattern!”   I mean, what are the chances?  So I get to the store and go in and check out the magazines and there was a Country Woman magazine and in it was a pattern for an Amish doll….exactly the pattern I needed….I kid you not!  I could not believe it and to top that miracle off, they had a bunch of soft flannel receiving blankets  perfect for the little bonnet and dress.  Talk about God calling and leaving a message!  So I went home and sewed up four little dolls (they are flat…kinda like pillows…perfect for hugging).   When I gave them to my friend, I was worried how she would react to them for I left the faces blank (seemed like the right thing to do since most miscarried babies are not “seen”) and the outfits were gender neutral.   I was not prepared for the outburst of tears and thought to myself, “Way to go, pour salt in the wounds” but they were tears of utter joy.  She said she had prayed, “God do you see my pain?”  “Does anyone care what I am going through?”    I was her answer to her prayer.  Because I had listened to that “still, small voice”,  I had blessed someone immeasurably.

It was a double blessing because it started a ministry for me.  I have made “Memorial Babies” for countless women all over the US.  I know the pain of being pregnant and then all of a sudden losing that little life.  Your arms ache for that life even if you never even felt it move within you.  Once you knew it was there, you loved it.  And then it’s gone and you have nothing to remember them by.  So that’s where the Babies help.  You have something that you can hold and cry into and sleep with and since it is built like a pillow, it’s soft and comforting.  My heart breaks for the mamas who grieve alone since so many people don’t realize the pain they are experiencing.  “Oh you will have another baby” is what they always hear but they want to scream out, “NO, I WANTED THIS BABY AND NOW IT’S GONE AND NOBODY UNDERSTANDS MY PAIN”.   Only if you have suffered this silent burden can you understand and so I just want to help them somehow.

Always remember ONE PERSON CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE.  You can be that person.  For those who have a belief in God, just ask Him to show you how you can be of service and I know He will show you….I am living proof.  You just have to be willing.  The best example of that was shown to me as my beautiful friend, Lisa, was dying of cancer and was so upset that she couldn’t be out serving God as she would have like to be.  Every morning she would literally hold out her hands, palms up, and say to The Lord, “Use me today, Father, just as I am” and many a day she would be unable to get up off the couch and yet He would bring people to her via the phone or in person for her to minister to or to pray for.  Even dying we can be of use if we are only willing.  BE WILLING TODAY and watch your life change.

“One person may not be able to change the world but one person can change the world of one person”

About queenrobyn

61 yrs.old, wife, mother, grandma, artist, humorist, friend, caregiver, blogger, retired singer, rughooker, doll and mohair teddy bearmaker, born-again Christian, rebel, optimist, addicted Ebay shopper, collector (or hoarder as my husband would tell you), glamper, lover of all things old and worn (like me!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

