GETTING REAL

Standard

Here I am once again, sitting on my throne (my lazy arse chair, now even better since hubby bought me a “comfort cushion” to sit on…I call it my “cush for my tush”) drinking coffee and reading magazines. As I was perusing the latest issue of “In Style”, I started to question why I read this magazine as I have nothing in common with any thing in it. I am too old, too fat, too poor and too wise to be lured into the advertising, the “how-to” articles, the fashion trends, etc. So why am I wasting my time reading it?

What I need a is magazine geared toward the REAL women of America. The women who work at grocery stores, schools, hospitals, nursing homes, department stores, fast food joints, hair salons, etc. The women who shop at the K-Marts, the Walmarts, the JC Penny and Sears stores. Women who spend the little money they have on others instead of themselves. I want REAL life, people!

That is what I would call the magazine, “REAL LIFE”, and the articles would be written by people who can relate to the average person. I would have articles like:

“How To Get a Great Hair Cut for Under $15”
“How To Look Fantastic Using Drugstore Cosmetics”
“How To Change The Look Of A Room For Under $100”
“Thrift Store Fashions”

“How To Look Your Best No Matter What Your Size”

“Weddings For Under $5000”

“Gifts For Under $25”

“What Men Really Want For Gifts”

“Throwing A Shower Using Dollar Store Stuff”

“Build A Wardrobe From Walmart”

“Grocery Store Smarts”

“Cheap Technology”

You get the idea.  Real information for real people with real budgets.  I want to read stories about how to survive job loss, how to live well on less (and I mean LESS, like $12,000-$30,000 a year), how to buy a good used car, articles on how to fix things in your home yourself.  Yes, I know there are magazines that address some of these issues but often times they are too zealous for the “normal” person.   How can I save money at the grocery store but not grow my own produce?  Save on electricity but not go solar.   Real solutions for real people.  How to have a nice yard but not spend more than $50 on plants.   Family vacations for under $500.  Free stuff.  Free fun things to do within your community.  Basic building skills, sewing skills, baking/cooking skills, plumbing skills, electricity skills, welding skills, etc.  Stuff real folks can do and do as inexpensively as possible.

I want a magazine that will address the “art of aging”.  Tell me how to look my best with all my age spots, and gray hair and saggy skin.  How to get some exercise that won’t make my back hurt more or my knees ache or don’t include getting down on the floor or putting weight on my already hurting wrists/ankles/knees.   I want articles on how to age gracefully and embrace the years I have lived.  How to live in a state of contentment, not a state of more, more, more, newer, newer, newer, younger, younger, younger.

What the heck is wrong with us?  We “baby boomers” are all over 50 now and where is our voice?   How dare we let advertisers and TV/movie executives dictate to us how to live, look, dress, etc.   Where are all the feminists I grew up listening to?  How is it that women over a certain age are discriminated against in all walks of life?  Didn’t we fight for years to be “equal”?   Didn’t we earn the right to be wrinkled and flabby and gray and still be vibrant, exciting, productive, interesting, attractive, wise, intelligent people?

Yes I am 58, a “senior citizen” by some standards but dang it, I am still all I used to be and more!  Don’t you dare cast me aside as old and un-everything good.   We need to take back the world!  Get our “groove” back!  Show this younger generation that we are not going to go quietly into the night.  Are we not the generation that made rock n roll???  And who began “heavy metal” music?  Was there ever a more popular group than the Stones (who are still rockin’ in their 60’s)?  Did Bob Dylan teach us nothing?

So anyone out there willing to start a magazine like that????   There are millions of us just waiting for it.  REAL PEOPLE, REAL LIFE.

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

