PART TWO OF HOW MOE CAN YOU GO?

Standard

When we last left our heroine, she had just had her sister in law, cut her hair from ear tip to ear tip with giant Fisker fabric shears and as the previous photo showed, it was kinda cute from the front.  Notice I said, FROM THE FRONT..

Before I show you the photo that shows the back of my head, I must set up the scene.  As I had said, the cut was perfect from the ears up but the nape of the neck looked nothing like Demi’s.  And since this was in the days before I had gotten my magic hair buzzer, I wondered what we could use to give it a “close to the head” cut.  Then I had an “AHA” moment….(this was way before Oprah came up with the catch phrase).  We could use my husband’s sideburn trimmer on his electric shaver.  My sister in law was not quite as enthusiastic as I was about this process but to keep peace (she was after all, staying at my house) she gingerly took the shaver and began to do her best at shaping my nape.  After what seemed like an eternity to me, she pronounced the deed done and gave me a look that shouted, “Don’t blame me, you asked for it”!   I ran for the bathroom to gaze adoringly at my new Demi look but what I saw was a roaring case of mange.  There were little bald spots all over the lower back of my head.  It looked like I had had chemo and my hair was falling out in clumps.  Now any sane person would have admitted defeat and quickly called their hairdresser for the first appointment possible but hey, this is me.  I have yet to decide if I am just stupid or extremely bullheaded (or in this case….bowl-headed) but I said, “Well, we can’t leave it like this, so just shave the rest off.”   As usual, I didn’t quite think this action thru.  I was thinking super short so the bald spots wouldn’t be so noticeable.  The fact of the matter is that when you use the sideburns attachment it has no hair guard so what you get is a “baby-bottom” smooth shave.   I must say, when I looked in the mirror and saw this, I was taken aback….image  Not the look I was going for unless it had been Moe from the Three Stooges.  And you must remember this was the mid 90’s and this was not a fashion trend.  Today I would have just painted a cool design on the bald spot (okay, truth….I would have had someone else paint it as I can’t do a thing to the back of my hair as I can’t “mirror-image”….you should see me back up a car…..oy vey).

My wonderful husband has been so used to leaving the house with me one color and him coming home 8 hours later and I’m totally different that I didn’t think this would phase him.  But that night when he came home,  I was to learn just how far I could go without him reacting negatively.  All was good until I turned and showed him the back.  Dead silence.  Then, “Robyn, that’s not funny” in an angry tone.  No matter how I tried to explain to him that this was a look that I, too, was not thrilled about, he couldn’t be cajoled out of his not happy mood.  My poor sister in law took flight in her camper in a hurry, hoping he wouldn’t blame her for any of this.  Needless to say, one of us slept on the couch that night.  But what a great story, eh?

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

