A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS

Standard

image Take a look at this photo.  What do you see?  A man and a little boy?  A father and son?  Sure but look closer.  Take a moment to just look, don’t think, don’t try to spot a hidden object, just look.  Let your heart describe this photo.  Now, tell me what you see…

I cannot view this picture without a cascade of emotions flooding my soul.  My eyes prick with tears.  My heart swells up and an uncommon feeling of pride in my country overwhelms me.

“Why”?   Because this photo embodies two of the most precious resources this country has….fatherhood and brotherhood.

What you see is a man who gives of his time, time he could be spending on himself or on his family, but instead he goes to his local firehall to learn how to help others. To maybe risk his life for his fellow man.  RISK HIS LIFE.   For what purpose?  To make money?  Nope, he is a volunteer.  If anything, he probably spends his own money on things needed.  For glory?  Ya, right.  It is mostly a thankless job.  So why would someone do such a deed?  I think because it’s the American thing to do.  To give of yourself for your neighbor or a stranger in need.

America is always being called on to help out other countries in times of disaster, hardship and war.   Not only do we take care of our own, we take of the whole world. Yes, I know there are some of you who say we butt in where we are not wanted and I have a hard time wrapping my head around why we help countries that in general hate us but when the chips are down, who does everyone call?   The United States of America because they know that we are a brave, feisty, bunch.  Willing to lay down our lives to help others.  Like this man.  This regular Joe.  This unsung hero.

Now let’s look at it from a different angle.  Look at the son.  He idolizes his daddy.  He wants to be everything his daddy is, do everything his daddy does.  He will grow up to be the kind of man his father is.  What an awesome responsibility that daddy has.

Fatherhood.  A job no one is prepared for.  A job easily gotten but incredibly hard to do well.  A job that will have ramifications for generations to come.  Used to be that American men took pride in raising good sons and many, many still do.  But a vast majority of men are abandoning their job of fatherhood, many before their children are even born.   We see generations of fatherless men.  Boys (and of course girls too, but I am focusing on boys) who never got the chance to walk with their daddies, to hold their hands, to look up to for guidance.   What these boys do have tho, is the propensity to imitate their fathers and be absent from their sons lives.   How sad it that?  And what kind of society will we have in the near future?

So I have told you what I see.  What is it that you see?

(Photo of Bill Mulek and son, Brycen.  Photo credit-Melinda Mulek 8/2013)

8 responses »

  1. Robyn-can hardly see the keyboard for sobbing after your latest post! Forwarded it to hubby Jon Jaime my son Will (one son Jonathan) & dau in law Amanda. Why? all but Will and little grandson had no real fathering.(Mom had to make sure we weren’t alone w/Dad all those years) The Lord can heal all.
    Thank You Lord.and for your daughter Robyn Belsvyk.

    • Anna, so many men are hurting today because of absent fathers, even those who had fathers in the home but were absent emotionally. The photo is of my nephew and great-nephew and he had a good (has)dad and so I know he will be a good daddy himself. One of the lucky ones…like your boys. My hope is that those men who didn’t have good dads will break that cycle and be the best dads they can be.

    • Denise, thank you for commenting on my blog. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed my stories. The crazy flamingos are still here and will appear in another post! They are the cockroaches of the bird family…once they get in you can never get rid of them!!!

  2. My Dad died in January, I come from a Family of 7 Kids. 5 Girls 2 boys I am in the middle, one older Brother two older Sisters and one younger Brother and two younger Sisters. My Father left my Mom when my youngest sister was 9 months old, and was re-married 7 times in his life. I had nothing to do with him, last time we talked was 1994 , my Older Brother had nothing to do with him he turned out fine, He was a U.S. Marine , for years also continued reserve as did my younger brother. My older Brother also Became a Firefighter Paramedic , but suffered a heart attack after about 10 years and left the Dept. but became a Wildland Firefighter, Faller, Sawer, and in Off Season also did Logging, my Younger Brother Became a Deputy Sheriff, both of my Brothers did fine without a dad in their life. They were brought up in baseball, Junior Marines, Sea Cadet’s , everything my mom could find to keep them busy and Happy. Mothers can do it, yes it’s nice to have the Father there but it’s not always the best thing, My Dad hates Police , he told my Younger Brother that he hopes someday when he pulled someone over , that they would pull out a gun and blow his head off. Not All Men Are Made to be Fathers. It’s sad that there are Guys and women who make children but don’t really want them. I love the picture of this Father and Son, boys can Grow up Good Without a Father And Become A Good Father Them self, and they should know that. God Bless.

  3. I wanted to finish, We lost my older Brother Fallen Firefighter 8-29-2000, our Father missed out on His Life , he missed out on all of our lives. God Bless Our FireFighters, And Law Enforcement And,Our Military For Doing These Jobs You Are in Our Prayers All Over The World.

Leave a Reply

