A KINDER YEAR

Standard

I am big on dates.  I am always going to start a new life on a catchy new date and this year was no different.  Tomorrow is 11/12/13.  A great date to start something new in my life.  Usually it has to do with some sort of deprivation or self-change like dieting or exercising or giving up something and as you can see, it has never worked for me.  I suck at self denial.  I suck at improving myself.  So a new thought popped into my head a couple of nights ago, why don’t I focus my actions on someone else?  I am pretty good at making other people’s life better in small ways so maybe I could really make a go of this!

So my goal for 11/12/13 to 12/13/14 (do you know that a sequence like this will not happen again until 01/02/03 of 2103?) is to perform some act of kindness each day and to record it so I can chart my progress.  Not to puff my self up (good grief I am puffy enough) but to keep myself accountable.  It need not be any earth-shattering thing, but just a small touch to someone else’s life.

Would anyone want to join me on this journey?  You don’t have to tell me what you will be doing if you don’t want to, but please keep a record so you will be accountable to yourself and please share with me your progress.  It can be anything you choose: self-denial, self-improvement, something for others, etc.

So to help me with my project, I am going to make a list of acts of kindness I could do and I would so love it if you would add others in the comment area.  It would be so great if I actually completed something as I am a fantastic starter but a very poor finisher!

ACTS OF KINDNESS

Send notes of encouragement to friends and acquaintances.

Pick out random names from phone book and send a card to wishing them a great day.

Send a note to someone from the past, thanking them for something they did or said.

Send a thank you note to a past teacher for all they did

Send a note to the fire department or police saying that you appreciate what they do

Give random compliments to strangers/store clerks/etc.

Pay for someone behind you in line at movie, or coffee shop or fast food joint

Leave a nice note with your tip at a restaurant

Drop a dollar bill for someone else to find

Pray for someone you see on your way to work

Park in the farthest parking spot so someone else can park closer

Buy someone a flower or plant

Wipe off someone else’s windshield this winter

Put a kind note in a library book (or a dollar)

Use whatever talents you have to make someone something for no special reason

Let someone go ahead of you in a line

If you see something on the floor, pick it up even if it isn’t yours or you did not drop it (like in a store).

Tell someone why you like them or appreciate them

Drop some change into the bins at drive thru’s for whatever charity they collect for

Thank the “bell ringers” for their service as you put money into their red kettles.

Open doors for others and give them a nice smile

Put a nice note into your bags of stuff  you donate to encourage the person unpacking the bag

Never pass up the chance to thank a service person for their sacrifice

I will be adding to this list as I think of things and I need ideas from you.  Help me succeed in my Kinder Year Quest and think about doing something yourself in this time frame..it won’t come around in our life time again so get on board now!!!!!

Your Mad Queen

Leave a Reply

