JUST A LITTLE UGLY (PART 3) THE REST OF THE STORY

Standard

As soon as we left the reception both little girls fell asleep in the car.  Poor Lola’s head kept trying to kiss her knees and I would ask the 4yr old to please push her head back up as I thought that has to be uncomfortable!

Never tell a 4yr old brother to push his sister’s head as he held it as he does a ball and went for a slam dunk!  “Gently”, I cried as her head was flung back against her car seat

But alas, it wasn’t 10 seconds later that it was back in that awful position.

And it wasn’t 15 seconds later that the 4yr old scored another 2 points….

By now, I figure it has to be better for her to hang over like that than to risk a TBI from her brother trying to help.

Because of my extreme stress and exhaustion, I was a tad loopy and I began to tell my husband how mad I was that I wasn’t picked for “Employee of the Month” seeing that this was my last month with the company for the summer and that I was a dang good employee and how hard I had worked, etc. etc.  I was almost in tears.  He looked at me and said, “You blew the whistle on them for not paying overtime and you expect to be Employee of the Month”?

He had a point there….

I started to laugh, and laugh, and laugh….you know the kind….kinda maniacal, not being able to stop, snorting and gasping for breath….dang it felt good!

So good that I thought a trip thru the drive-thru at Culvers was in order.  Me and Jack got a dish of chocolate frozen custard and we even tried to adjust Lola to make her more comfortable but no way was she not going to scope out her knees.  Why don’t they make some kind of headrest for car seats?  Or do they and we just didn’t have one?

We are driving home into the sunset and I turn around to look at Jack and he has chocolate custard on his face, his white shirt, his pants and he looks at me and gives me one of his beautiful smiles that light up his eyes and he says, “I AM HAPPY”.

What more can a grandparent want than to make a grandchild happy?  That picture of him will stay in my mind for the rest of my life (and the chocolate is probably in his new white shirt for that long, too).

We had been planning on bringing the kids to our house and daughter would pick them up but I had the brilliant idea that since we had the key to her house, why didn’t we just bring them home and put them to bed?  Duh….

Well, you know the old saying, “Best laid plans of mice and men….”

Lola never woke up and so she was placed on the couch (I did not want to risk waking her up to change her into her jammies and try to put her down into her crib).

Jack was happy just being with Grumpa so we let him stay up (can never get enough hours with that boy!)

And what about Baby?  Oh yes, baby…..

There is a plaque that says, “IF MOMMA AIN’T HAPPY, NOBODY IS HAPPY”,  well that should have read, “IF BABY AIN’T HAPPY NO ONE ELSE IN THIS HOUSE IS GONNA BE HAPPY EITHER”.

She probably needed the arms and other parts of her momma and she was only not crying when someone was holding her and walking.  She had gone from weighing 19# to 50# or more and neither Scott nor I had the back strength to keep holding and walking her.  I had never seen my husband HAVE to sit down.  He could no longer stand up.  But the cries of Baby were too much for Grandma and she pleaded with Grumpa to please, please make Baby happy or Grandma was going to have a serious breakdown and he was going to have to hold Grandma and Baby.

Well, the thought of having to hold Grandma, gave Grumpa super human strength and he was able to lift Baby to ceiling and back which delighted Baby but made 4yr old want “his turn” and Grumpa can never say no and mustered up every bit of “old man” strength and gave little Jack his turn and thankfully in walked the momma!

Baby happy.

Grumpa happier and he got to put Jack to bed..Jack happy

Grandma happiest.

Good night, Grumpa.

Good night, Grandma.

Hear Grumpa snore.

Snore, Grumpa, snore.

See Grandma toss and turn.

See Grandma flip and flop.

Poor Grandma, no rest for the wicked…

4am…see Grandma finally fall asleep.

8:30am….See cows gone.

Run, cows, run.

Grandma can not believe this is happening…..

ps.  No matter how tiring it can be watching our grandbabies we would not change a hair on their little chinny, chin, chins.  We love them more than our life (and backs!) And will drop everything to be able to be with them….no matter where or for how long!

Grandchildren are the “gold” in our Golden years!

Leave a Reply

