“G” IS FOR GRIPING

Standard

I’ve got a gripe with you gripers out there…..

Let’s define what griping is:  Express a complaint or grumble about something, especially something trival….synonyms are: complain, grumble, grouse, protest, whine, bleat, moan, bellyache, beef, kvetch

Are you a griper?  Are you awlays complaining about something?  Or everything?

I used to work with a person who bellyached about everything….and I do mean EVERYTHING.  Nothing was right…they listened to talk radio but they would get mad at the person talking (the host) and I would think, “Why don’t you just turn the dang radio off?”  Or when we would be watching a TV show and there were stupid or too many commercials…they would rant and rave.  They complained about the help they got, they grumbled about the weather even tho they never even stepped outside, they kvetched about their relatives, the other residents in their building, their food, the way their bed was made,  nothing made them happy.  It got to the point where I would get a stomache ache listening to them bellyache!

Why complain about stuff you can’t change?  Like the weather.  I hate hot and humid weather and I will not venture out in it if I can help it.  But do I chew the ear off of everyone around me?

I can’t change the price of gas, or who the President is, or who is in Congress (until election time and if I don’t vote, I have no one to blame but myself if “my” person doesn’t get in) so getting all worked up over what is going on isn’t doing me a bit of good nor do I want to listen to someone harp on and on about things that AT THE TIME cannot be changed.

I always figure I have two choices….either live with the situation or change it!  Hate the weather?  Move.  Hate your job?  Look for another or make changes if you can to help your situation.

There are a few things in life, that we can not alter no matter what.  The death of a loved one, is one of them.  And it can take some time to come to peace with that death and I understand that.

Please don’t think I am insensitive, I feel your pain BUT there comes a time when either you “poop or get off the pot”.

Either you are a Victim or a Conqueror and the choice is always up to you.

Think of the person who you love to be around the most?  Are they a whiner?  Do they talk endlessly about their problems and never seem to find a solution? Probably not.

Now think about how you are.  Do your friends seem to love to be around you or do you have a hard time getting together with them?  They are always “busy”….hmmm, maybe it’s time to take a good, long look at your self.

This post is NOT intended to be a subtle hint to certain friends of mine….honest 🙂

We all have faults.  You overlook mine because there is something you like about me, and I do the same for you…that’s how true friendship works.

We need a “whine-o-meter” or a shock collar that zaps us when we are griping too much because I bet most of us don’t even realize it.  It has become just part of us.

I would put mine with my collection of zap collars that my husband has for me….like when I finish his sentences….ZAP….when I interrupt him…ZAP….when I assume I know what he is thinking or what he is going to say….ZAP….or when he is on the phone and I try to talk to him….TWO ZAPS….

A person who gripes all the time is like a dog that barks all the time…you wanna muzzle both of them!!!!

So get a grip on your gripes!

Until tomorrow,

 

Your Queen who is practically perfect….

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

