“L” IS FOR LUCK

Standard

LUCK:  noun~A force that brings good fortune or adversity; the events or circumstances that operate for or against an individual; favoring chance

verb~To prosper or succeed especially through chance or good fortune; to come upon something desirable by chance

Ever use one of these:  lucky streak, lucky star, lucky break, lucky dog, lucky stiff, lucky duck, in luck, rotten luck, pure luck, luck out, luck into, tough luck, luck of the Irish, beginner’s luck, lucky day, Lady Luck, no luck, good luck, down on your luck, as luck would have it, and my personal favorite~Lucky in cards unlucky in love!

Do you believe in LUCK?   Seriously believe in a force called “Luck” that has some kind of power over your life?

Do you believe in Lucky charms such as rabbit’s feet and horseshoes?  Do you “knock-wood” to ward off bad luck?

I do not believe in luck as a force or kind of entity.

I do not worry when I break a mirror that I will have  7 years of bad luck, I worry more about stepping on a piece of glass that I missed after cleaning it up!

I don’t think walking under a ladder is safe only because it is possible that the ladder could collapse or if there is a person on it, they could drop something on my head or fall on me and if that should happen, I would not call it “bad luck” I would call it stupidity on my part for walking under it.

If a black cat run across my path, I don’t get spooked unless a huge Rottweiler is chasing it then I would be alarmed it might crash into me!

I do know some folks that seem to be more “lucky” than the rest of us at games of chance or winning at drawings but I bet if you looked statistically at how often they do those things versus most of us, their mathematical probability is greater for winning.

I have a pretty balanced life….good stuff happens and bad stuff happens.  Some of the stuff happens because of the actions I take or others take and some stuff happens for a seemingly random reason.

I call it “Divine Providence”….I believe that God allows things to happen in my life, both good and “bad” for a divine purpose.  Many times I don’t understand why something is happening but I try to remember that I only reason with a human brain and that God’s ways are not human ways and I see only a tiny speck of the picture and He sees the vastness of my life.

Does it make the bad easier to bear?  Sometimes and sometimes not.  Each new wound calls for a fresh anointing of faith.

So, tonight I ask you this question: Do you believe in a random force called Luck or do you believe in the Scripture~Ecclesiastes 9:11-12

“I have seen something else under the sun:  The race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned; but time and chance happen to them all.  Moreover, no man knows when his hour will come: As fish are caught in a cruel net, or birds are taken in a snare, so men are trapped by evil times that fall unexpectedly upon them.”

Thoughts?

Until the morrow,

Queen Robyn

One response »

  1. I like to say I have “the luck of the Irish” only because I’m Irish, but I actually believe that I am very blessed : )

Leave a Reply

