FROM BLAH TO COWBOY CHIC

Standard

WE have two “livingrooms”; one as you walk in my front door and then a Great Room on the next level which is where I spend most of my waking hours (sitting in my Lazy Arse chair).

Scott has the computer in the lower living room on a beautiful old oak school teacher’s desk.  And he has a groovy old wooden rolling chair.  Neither are comfortable for me.  The chair is too hard and the desk is too tall/short for me to use the computer so I am never down there.  Plus we have a small wood-burning stove and we keep a small stash of wood next to the desk so it gets grungy and uber dusty.  And you all know how I feel about dusting….

But that is the second place you see when you come to my house (the first being my front porch) and it used to be so cute down there that folks would often comment it looked like a craft store or a gingerbread house.  Scott used to say some day he was going to put price tags on stuff and sell it when I was gone!

When we built the addition, it was much nicer upstairs.  In-floor heating, huge windows, great view and nice big TV and comfortable seating.  It has held close to 40 people and it really is the heart of our home.

Since I am a lady of leisure and free to do what I want, I decided to tackle that room and see what I could do with the stuff I had access to.  Most of my decorating stuff is being held hostage in our fifth-wheel and it is so packed that you can not get in without someone standing behind you to take the crap from the doorway so my hands-on stuff was limited.  But then I had an AHA moment and I remembered I had bought stuff for my Airstream to decorate in an old cowboy/lodge decor and it was only in the little camper.  And so the quest was on to change blah to chic….

Here is the before photo taken from my steps leading to the upper level.

image

I love redecorating.  It’s genetic.  My Grandma Lou used to redo her house all by herself.  I remember one time she took a sledge hammer to a wall she wanted something done to.  I also remember Grandpa Russ coming home and having a fit but she got what she wanted!

What I forgot is that I no longer have the energy that I used to and that I have the ability to focus on one thing like that of a hyperactive toddler.

It has taken me four days to get it “done” (I have used everything in my house that I could find to “get ‘er done”).   It would have taken anyone else with a normal mind and a normal amount of energy one-day at most.

First of all, it was a dusty mess.  So I cleaned the blinds, washed the windows (inside only…lets not get anal here!) wiped down the windowsills and vacuumed any cobwebs I could get to and then vacuumed the floor and washed it.  Then I had to find stuff, clean it, iron the wrinkles out, find a ladder, find nails and hammer, eat, check FB, play WWF, eat, check Pinterest, take a nap, eat a snack, go back to decorating, wash clothes, try to sleep (hahaha…what a joke…went to bed every “night” when the birds started singing and the day was beginning to wake up).

Yup, four days of that….and now I am 95 percent done.  I never did make it out to go antiquing (read the “I” is for Intentions” post).  So everything you see in the following photos I had at home…..it’s kinda scary…..

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimage

 

I am going to stop here as I don’t know how much “space” these photos are taking up on your computers so I will post additional photos in part II post.

Please let me know what you think of my decorating~good or bad 🙂

6 responses »

    • Jessica! I never knew you read my blog! Welcome. I would LOVE to see pictures of your home. I know God has us each placed where He wants us, but I sure would love if you were within “coffee” distance. I miss the “old days” more than you can ever imagine….I love you Mrs. Chalfant and I pray that our Father blesses you and Wade beyond measure. Please tell him I said “HI” and I look forward to seeing him next time he comes up. I love talking to him.

      >

    • Well yee-haw Miz Jilly, I reckon ya’ll better mosey on up to this here ranch purdy durn soon. So’s how bout Saturday, the 21st? Lessen you and yer man is gunna watch them thar goofy folks that run that dadburn race. Can’t unnerstand why folks be a’runnin iffn ther ain’t nothin’ runnin’ after ya! You talk to that other gal and let me know!

      >

Leave a Reply

