“M” IS FOR MOO

Standard

image

These handsome fellas are Mr. T. Bone and his brother, Sir Loyn.  This photo was taken during a cold snap and they are twice as big today.  By butchering time, they should be up around 1400# a piece.

It has been my job on occasion to feed and water them.  No biggie.  The hardest part was trudging thru the high snow to get to them.  We have a system hooked up where the water is next to their heated water trough so I don’t have to lug 5 gallon pails of water back and forth…they drink a lot of water in a day so I would have arms like Popeye except they would be dragging on the ground from being stretched out by the weight of the water buckets.  I may look strong but under all this “muscle” is a 90 pound weakling.

Yesterday a neighbor came over with his skidsteer (a machine not a cow!) and I had to help him get one of those huge round bales of hay into the pen.  So I carefully undid the electric fence wires and he came in and dumped the bales into the metal feeder pen, meanwhile I had carefully put back the electric fencing since they can no longer be trusted to not make a jail break (another post to come).  I thought our neighbor was going to get out and cut the bale twine off or help me do it but he didn’t and he was heading to the electric fence so I had to hurry to get to it so he could get out of the pen.

Now, let’s just stop here and who can tell me what kind of fence I have been writing about?  Karen?  Jyl?   Jodi?  Anyone?  Anyone?   Bueller?

ELECTRIC, yes that’s right and who can tell me what happens when you touch an ELECTRIC fence?   Somehow I got some part of my body against the fence and I swear I heard someone shout, “CLEAR” because I was given the biggest bolt of electricity I have ever experienced in my life and I have done some shocking things but this was the Mother of All shocks.  It tore thru my chest, hit my heart, went down my right butt cheek came back up and branched out to my right elbow and zapped the tip of my tongue.  I KID YOU NOT.  I had a friend over and she just happened to be looking out the window and she said she could see that I had gotten zapped because she said I jumped and started rubbing my arm.  My life did not flash before my eyes and I did not lose control of any bodily functions so it probably wouldn’t have killed me, but it sure scared the cow piles out of me.

I don’t know if it is 110 volt or greater that courses through those wires but I gotta tell ya that my heart feels pretty darn good today!  I suffer from a heart murmur and an irregular beat and I can often feel it going goofy during the day but since I was electrified, my heart feels terrific!!!!

But you can believe that I am ultra careful now with that fence.  Today, as I was spraying down the cows (for mosquitoes and flies), I got between the fence and a cow and I had a split second of terror, thinking holy crap, what if that cow decides to pin me against the fence?  I will never do that again!

Next year I think chickens will be on the menu as they don’t need electric fencing…eight weeks from birth to butcher….now that’s my kind of farming!

Moooooving along to “N” tomorrow…..

The Electric Queen

5 responses »

  1. Jess, I don’t think “shock” is a painful enough term for what I experienced…I prefer non-lethal electrocution!! And you can be sure Uncle Scott is going to have to buy me something pretty darn good for taking care of the cows while he is off fishing for a week!! Like a truck camper!!!

Leave a Reply

