“Q” IS FOR QUEEN

Standard

If not for Queen Latifah, I might never have found my own title of Queen.

One day I decided if she could go by “Queen”, why then could not I?  I promptly nailed up on the kitchen wall, a proclaimation that from this day forward, I would be Queen Robyn and to treat me as such.

imageSince that day, oh so long ago, I have made it my mission to encourage other woman to find the Queen in themselves.

image You may ask me why I feel I am a Queen and if you are a woman  and you  have to ask, I guess you will never be a Queen as you do not value yourself or your contributions to life!  I believe how you perceive yourself is how others will treat you.  So if I believe I am royalty, I will be treated as such (great in theory, but harder to pull off in real life, I’m afraid!)

image I have all kinds of “Queen” stuff throughout the house; mugs, crowns, pin cushions, t-shirts, if it has the word Queen on it,  I probably have it.  Most of my friends have gotten used to calling me Queen, and some are even privileged to call me by Queenie.   My daughter did put her foot down when I requested her children call me Queen!

image This must be the reason I am always, always, always late!

image This must be the reason I am really, really, really fat!!!!

Being a Queen does not give one the right to believe that they are better than anyone else.  A good Queen always makes sure her “subjects” are happy and content.  A good Queen will sacrifice her needs for the good of her kingdom.  A good Queen stands up for the sick, the lowly, the poor, the downtrodden, the “least of these” and does not care what the rest of society says is “true”.

image So next time we meet, I shall expect you to call me Queen but bowing down is not necessary, appreciated yes, but not required!

Now you know my royal story,

Queen Roby

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

