“S” IS FOR SWIMSUITS

Standard

image

 

Swimsuit shopping is the worst kind of shopping known to womanhood.  I do not believe there is a woman alive who gets excited at the prospect of going swimsuit hunting.

I remember being skinny (ya, I know…it was decades ago) and still hating to try on swimsuits.

Now that I am a woman of fleshy abundance and a poster child for spider veins, my swimsuit days are long gone.  YOU ARE MOST WELCOME…

But there are times I wish to set my abundanceness in some water and since I don’t have the financial means to rent a whole hotel for just me and my family, I have gotten creative in my attire.   I just purchased a Tankini top, complete with the biggest, roundest,  cup inserts I have ever seen but actually fits like a dream, to go with a pair of  capri black leggings with an attached skirt that is light weight and should provide ample coverage and yet be something one can wear in the water and not be dragged to the bottom by waterlogged material.  I shall be unveiling my new attire at a reunion of gal cousins next month!  Lucky them.  Hopefully by the time we actually get in the pool, most of them will have had enough liquor that they wouldn’t care a bit if I was nekked….ew….sorry to have put that picture into your mind….and hey, we are all related so they can just be thankful they did not inherit the same genes I got!

Can we talk about swimsuits?  I have a “soap box” opinion on them that is NOT at all popular.  As wild as I am in my hair/make-up/clothing, I take a VERY conservative view on swimsuit wear among mixed sexes.  It has bothered me for years that really conservative folks in most areas of their lives, think nothing of wearing body-baring suits to swim in.  Folks that believe in modesty and purity in every other part of their lives but seem to forget that in the area of swimsuits. Why is it ok for them to wear “underwear for water” out in public when they would not wear such clothing anywhere else?   Do they feel it is appropriate for people of the opposite sex to view their bodies because they are at a pool or a beach?   Does not the verses in the Bible about not causing one another to stumble in their Christian walk apply to the beach?  Do we not lust or sin with our eyes in the water?   Is your son/husband not going to see the breast of that woman or her butt cheeks?   I just don’t get it.   And don’t even try to tell me that it is up to each person not to sin, that you can wear whatever you like and it is not your problem if they “sin” because of your immodesty.  Poppycock!   We “Christians”  are called to a higher standard than the “world” but at a beach you cannot tell “us” from the rest of society and I think it is wrong, wrong, wrong.

As I said, it is my soap box and I would LOVE to hear your comments on this.  Even if you vehemently disagree.  I want to hear how you justify it.

Ok, well this is going to tick off some folks but hey….opinions are like noses…everyone has one and this is mine….I will still love you and I hope that you will still love me even if we think each other is “nuts”!!!

Come on in, the water is fine…..

Your very modest Queen

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

One response »

  1. Well, I have to say I agree. I do own a two piece but wear a tank and shorts over it due to me not being able to find a comfortable one piece. So, that’s my “nose” 😉

Leave a Reply

