“T” IS FOR TEMPTATION

Standard

TEMPTATION:  the desire to perform an action that one may enjoy immediately or in the short term but will probably later regret for various reasons

Oh boy, can I relate to that….

I am a weak sister….I have very little resolve when it comes to giving in to temptation.image

I am an “all or nothing”, “what’s the worst that can happen”, “you gotta die sometime”, “it’s only money/hair”, “buy today, worry about paying for it later”, kind of gal.

image

Temptation and I are old friends.   Sometimes we are even best friends.  We have a very volatile relationship.  I know that being friends with it will only harm me but it sings it’s siren song and I listen and does what it tells me to do.  Now, I am not talking illegal, immoral, or salvation stealing stuff.  I am talking personal issues that can on occasion,  even affect my family.

image

There is a saying I once read that goes, “There are three parts to sin: temptation; hesitation; participation.”

It is not bad to be tempted.  We are tempted daily in some way, shape or form.  The problem starts when we hesitate or begin to imagine what it might be like to give in to that particular tempting thought.  At this point is where self-control and self-discipline come in.  Two character traits I am very weak in.  image

I have to completely stay away from my “tempters”…those places and things and areas that I know I am weak-willed in.  As I mentioned before, I am an “all or nothing” gal.

If my tempter is shopping, then I have to not surf the internet and especially not surf Ebay.  I love ebay.  I would rather spend the day surfing Ebay than a day at the Mega Mall.  If the only way I could spend money was to physically go out and go into a store then I probably would save thousands of dollars every year.

Same would hold true with eating.  If I forced myself to only eat IN a food joint, I would be much thinner as I really don’t go INTO restaurants very often.  I am a drive-thru, eat in my car, kinda gal.  (I must admit, since I no longer work and have to be in town, I don’t have the opportunity to eat out nearly as much as the closest place is still a good 20 minutes away!)  And praise The Lord, no one delivers pizza out in the Boonies.

image

What about you?  How do you overcome temptations?  Want to share what your “tempters” are?

As for me, I really need to work on my self-discipline.  I have HUGE issues with authority (my husband is reading this and saying, “OH YA THINK?”) that stem from childhood and even though I can see that and know that a certain amount of self-discipline is good and healthy, I bristle at the thought that I can’t/shouldn’t do whatever the heck I want.  Ya, I know.  Major issues.

But my famous motto is:  “I’m not dead yet”.  So there is hope for me…

Please share your thoughts with me.  I love hearing from you.  I know I am not alone in this struggle and you know that “misery loves company”!

Love from your reckless Queen

2 responses »

  1. I am often tempted to eat junk food. I read scripture, pray, and eat one of my favorite healthy meals to flee temptation. I’m not always perfect, though. Half the battle is realizing this and getting back on the horse immediately.

    • My problem for years has been the ” oh well, I blew the diet today. Might as well eat what I want and start tomorrow”….only tomorrow never comes!!! It’s that dang “all or nothing” thinking.

Leave a Reply

