THE QUEEN CREATES: FINISHED PAINTED FURNITURE

Standard

Here are the after shots of my painted couch and giant chair and ottoman.  And I couldn’t stop painting so I added some color to my Lazy Arse Chair…made it more fitting for my Queenly bottom to plop down on.

First photo is my naked and boring couch, which I discovered is made from 45% unknown materials (ok, how is that the company that made the furniture doesn’t know what kind of material it is made from????  Should I be worried?)

image

I painted the back in an orangish color, the sides in a lime with bright royal blue trim and a fuchsia with a sea foam green trim, the front of the couch below the cushions in yellow (my favorite color of them all) and the backside of the front of the couch (?) in turquoise.  I did the piping on the cushions in teal and hot pink and the pillows have orange and spring green around them.

image image imageimage

I still need to paint the feet of the couch and chair in a bright red glossy paint !

The giant chair has a turquoise side with purple trim, rust with a mossy green trim, the front is done in a grape and the front-back is a dark raspberry and the back is yellow. The cushion has red piping and the pillow has a mustard yellow color.

image image image

I was going to add a little skirt to the ottoman and then I thought, “What the heck are you thinking, Queenie?”  I am not a skirting kinda of gal so I painted on some fun dots and splotches.  Much more “me”.image image

 

This is what I have done so far to my Lazy Arse chair.  I mixed up some craft paints and added water and was hoping for a more burgundy tone but it turned out almost the same color as the front-back of the giant chair.  I added glittery gold paint to all the cording.  Next time I go to town, I think I will get a darker color and repaint it and then also paint the back (and add gold glittery legs to it, cause it is afterall, my throne!).

image image image

So there you  have it…my project for the last week.  I learned a few things in doing these that I should share with you in case you decide to paint your own furniture.

Buy good quality foam brushes!  I had the cheapo ones from the craft store and they gave out fairly quickly and I found some better ones in a staining kit we had and they were so much better.

Acrylic craft pain (the cheap stuff) is easier to work with and blends with the water better.  Just be careful not to wet the fabric too much or the color will bleed into places you don’t want it to.  I never even used water on the Lazy Arse chair as the fabric was a chenille type and took the acrylic/water mix really well just dry.  It took two 2 oz. bottles of paint and 10-12 oz. of water to do one side of my couch with two coats.

And if you need to do more than one coat, wait only about an hour to give the next coat, especially if you are using latex paint as waiting till the next day made it so “crusty” it really tore up the foam brushes.  But if your fabric is smooth, you might not have that problem.

The top of my ottoman is so hard and rough that my daughter brushed against it and got scratched!  But it has 7 coats of paint on it and I will be adding a layer of glossy Mod Podge to it to help protect it from stains and I am thinking if I layer it on thick enough it will help with the roughness.  Didn’t bother the Grands at all, tho!  They liked jumping on it to the chair and the baby kept touching it.

I have another chair that I am thinking of painting in GOLD and it is a leaf-pattern material so it could be Awesome.   My next in-door project.   Gotta get the little Glamper done for my camping trip later this month….

So many projects, so little energy!!!!   Wish we could have three months of sun with temps in the low 60’s to get stuff done.

Your crafty Queen

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

One response »

  1. Cool colors! So, they are crusty, huh? I have fabric paint designed for t-shirts that is more like dye that is not crusty. However, it is WAY more expensive and difficult to control. Wants to run like watercolors, but that can be cool, too. I love that you did this. You are afraid of nothing!

Leave a Reply

