DID THE STEEL PLANT STEAL OUR HEALTH?

Standard

FOR YEARS I have been wondering if living next to a steel plant and a cement plant has caused us to have more diseases and odder illnesses and to die earlier than the folks living just a few miles away?

I would love to know what the cancer rate is for those of us who were born and raised during the heyday of US Steel.   Say from those born from 1916 to the late 1970’s.  And what about our children?  Even if we had left the area after high school, did we carry damaged genes and pass them on to our children, especially if we married someone who had also grown up in the steel industry area?

In my own family, my dad was born and spent his whole 58 years living next to the plant and he got prostate cancer at age 50 (he also had his first heart attack at age 36 and had had two open heart surgeries between the ages of 50-57 but I believe that was a genetic factor not environmental.).

My sister got a super rare disease back when she was just in her mid-thirties and I have had Fibromyalgia for three decades and now have just figured out that I have been living with a super rare disease since my teens that is called Decrums.

My mom, on the other hand, is the picture of health at a few days short of 84 but did not grow up next to the steel mill but moved there in 1954 and has lived there ever since.

So what do you, that grew up in the Gary/New Duluth/Morgan Park/Smithville/Riverside, areas think?  Have you or your family members died early from cancers or other illnesses?  Have you or a family member been diagnosed with an uncommon illness?

As far as I can remember, no one has ever done a report on this and I wonder why?

Please comment on this….inquiring minds want to know!

Love from your Queen who feels like the Tin Man before he got oiled!

One response »

  1. I think that there’s a whole lot of things that we’re not privy to. How long did it take for the dangers of cigarettes to become known? That might have been the tip of the iceberg.

Leave a Reply

