Musings for a New Year

Standard

Today I was in my new “bedwomb” sitting in my lazy arse chair reading a book called, “At Knit’s End…Meditations for Women who Knit Too Much” by Stephanie Pearl- McPheeimg_1133and on the top of each page was a famous quote and because I have AADD, I think of tons of other stuff as I read, it occurred to me that I could do some posts on the quotes she used.  So let’s get this year started off with this first quote:

THERE IS A CERTAIN MAJESTY IN SIMPLICITY WHICH IS FAR ABOVE ALL THE QUAINTNESS OF WIT.       Alexander Pope

This started me thinking about my house which is the antithesis of simple but how I yearn for the calmness of a house devoid of clutter and dust and visual cacophony.  I can sense my inner stress lessen when I look at photos of homes decorated in a harmonic color scheme of creamy whites with just a slight pop of a sedate sage green here and there.  My soul seems to long for that sense of serenity that oozes out of the  photos.

But my reality is just the opposite.  My house is as loud as I am.  I must be my own twin.  How can one person have such diametrically opposed color passions?  Could I be “duel personalities”?  A quiet, calm soul and a wild, let’s just add another color to the mix soul?   Oooo, I would love to hear a psychologist take on that!  How that the older I get, the more color affects my life.  Same with noise…..I want less and less noise.  I could wear earplugs 24/7.   Hmmmm….anybody out there with a degree in Psych who wants to give me an armchair diagnosis?

And speaking of wit….ya, I know we weren’t but I would be remiss to not mention it since it too was in the quote….I use wit to cover up my lack of simplicity skills.  I will tell you stories of my pet dust mice; explain to you that dust is just a decor accent that I excel at; put up signs saying, “My house was clean yesterday. Sorry you missed it!”  All the while I am berating myself for not having the energy or social embarrassment to be concerned that there is probably dust from the last century sitting on something.  My mother would tell you I was not brought up this way…(oooo, more fodder for the shrink, me thinks).

So this is the kind of stuff that runs through my brain as I read….my husband once said he would love to be able to be inside my head for a day.  I told him he would be screaming to get out in less than five minutes!

Until tomorrow,

I remain your most colorful queenimg_0126

About thelumberjackandthegypsy

The lumberjack is my husband and he owns Arrowhead Wood Products; Arrowhead Toboggan and Snowshoe; and Lake Superior Furniture Co. and is the exclusive manufacturer of wood shutters for Summit Hill Shutter Co. The gypsy is me, and I have a passion for teaching people to tap into their creative side, even when they think they don't have one! I did not grow up creative or artsy and I was in my thirties before I started sewing and creating things. I am a rug hooker; artisan teddy bear maker; painter (from pictures to large pieces of furniture!); knitter; doll maker; needle-felter, repurposer; sewer; decorator; blogger; glamper; reader; vintage jewelry maker; junker; and now a shop owner. But the lumberjack and I feel our greatest gifts in this world are our four grandkids and our daughter and her husband and our relationship with Jesus Christ. We have been married for more than 33 years and most of that time we have lived out in the country on a hobby farm where we have raised chickens, turkeys, ducks, goats, pigs and beef cattle. We also homeschooled our only child for her entire school years. We lived out our dream of being like the The Little House on the Prairie and they were great times. I also have a personal blog: rantingsofamadqueen.wordpress.com where I tell stories of what life on the farm has been like and other things that pop up in my very weird mind. I prefer "quirky or eccentric" instead of weird (sounds more fascinating and less creepy)!

Leave a Reply

