My Mother

Standard

Cheech Marin said, “I JUST THOUGHT OF SOMETHING FUNNY—YOUR MOTHER”!

How he knew my mother, I’ll never know.

This weekend my sister and Mother came up for one of our overnighters.  We try to do it every six weeks or so and it is usually at my house since my husband treats us like Queens and cooks fantastic meals for us (plus he gets to side with Mother when she gets on me about my housekeeping/cooking/hair/etc.).

I try to make sure we have a fun craft to do (or we will have to play Farkel).  This time I had them make something out of antique jewelry/beads/buttons on a canvass.  Mother decided right away to make the letter “R” but it took Jodi a good hour or so to finally decide that she was going to do the letter “M” for her new house.  I had much loftier plans and hand-drew a weird looking peacock.

Because in my dream world, I am going to make unique necklaces out of old jewelry and charms and vintage Cracker Jack toys, I had gobs of this kind of stuff.  And a couple of different kinds of glue.  I always find it interesting when doing crafts with people, some jump right in, others question each and every decision and have to ask , “Is this right?”….”Am I doing it right?”….”Should I use this?”.   Mother is like that.  Which rather surprises me since she is very artistic in her own right but I think it stems from her generation of women who always worried about “what others might think” instead of what they themselves thought.  Jodi just plows right in.

Mother cannot help but give “suggestions” to both Jodi and I on what we “SHOULD” use for our projects no matter how many times we tell her we are doing OK on our own.  (Once a mother, always a mother, I guess!).

 

We always have great fun being together but at least once during the 26 hours they are here, Mother gets “offended” at our teasing and laughing “with” her and threatens to leave, which brings even more laughter because Jodi drives or she says she isn’t going to talk any more (which never lasts long!).

Mother has much more energy than Jodi and I and she gets mad when we say we are tired and want to go to sleep before 1am.  She calls us party poopers.  It used to be ok since she and Jodi would sleep in my great room and the big TV was in there.  She would turn on the Golden Girls and watch TV till she got tired.  This time was different since we moved the TV to our lower livingroom and there is just one couch down there which Jodi decided to sleep on since it was so stinkin’ cold upstairs and the lower living room has a wood burning stove.  Poor Mother had to lay upstairs and just wait to fall asleep in the cold great room….(she usually says it’s so cold in there that she can’t sleep well cause her nose is too cold!  The room has in-floor heating but it hasn’t worked in three years so it can get a bit “nippy” in there!)

There is always a power struggle on Sunday mornings as to who makes the coffee.  Scott and I drink it STRONG and Mother and Jodi use just enough coffee so the water isn’t clear.  This Sunday Mother made the “coffee” and when I asked her how many scoops she put in, she said, “Four…was that too many”?   We use TEN!  I thought she and Jodi were going to fall off the couch when I told her that.  I had to get out my little camping pot and make Scott and I each a cup of REAL coffee as he prepared breakfast.

After a huge breakfast of stuffed omelettes, we played cards.  In addition to making up craft projects, I always try to either make up a new card game or mutate a classic game.  This week it was Kings in a Corner and since we play for money, I said that if you forgot to draw a card you had to pay each person a quarter; if you missed a play it was a quarter to the person who caught it; if you left an open spot you paid a quarter to the person who’s turn it was next who caught it; and who ever won the game got a dollar from everyone.  Mother complained each and every turn.  Bad cards, cards of all one color, bad cards being played, and when she would miss a play she would blame us for not having the kings in the EXACT corners or for distracting her.  Mother is a terrible loser we have discovered!  And of course, Jodi and I laugh so hard during all of this that sometimes we make ourselves sick….and Mother says she isn’t coming up ever again!

Oh that Ruby….she always tells us, “You are going to miss me when I am gone and then who will you two have to pick on”.  And she is dead right.  Laugh and joke as we will about Mother, she is our glue, our beacon, our defender, our EVERYTHING and we LOVE HER and would not change a thing about her (cause then what would we have to laugh at???).  Jodi and I are blessed and grateful to call her our mom!

img_1154Til next time,

Your Queen who is more like her mother than she would like you to know!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

